top of page

Club 2000, Round 3, 7th March 2020

We didn’t quite get the bright and sunny weather we’d had for Rounds 1 and 2 but at least it stayed dry!

Another lap-record this month in Minimax. Congratulations to Sam Cooper who managed a 42.58 shaving 0.33 off the previous record set last month.


It was pretty much like a game of follow my leader with the finishing order of Heats 1, 2 and 3 ending up exactly the same. There was a tiny bit of shuffling in the Final as drivers were probably getting bored of watching the same back ends! Joshua Smith (15) grabbed three 1sts in the heats and a 2nd in the Final. Jenson Mason (58) managed three 2nds and a 1st in the Final. Luke Bate (9) remained consistent with four 3rd places.

Joshua Smith (15) claimed the fastest Honda lap of the day with a 47.00 in Heat 3; he also achieved the fastest average speed of 56.53 mph in Qualifying.

1st Jenson Mason (58) 2nd Joshua Smith (15) 3rd Luke Bate (9)

4th Ollie Clark-Ward (4)

5th Hayden Gray (16)

IAME Cadet

We were delighted to welcome a new IAME competitor, Jamie Gurney, who has put the first IAME lap time on the board: 46.64 achieving a fastest average speed of 56.16 mph. Now we just need a few more IAMEs to get the championship table started.

1st Jamie Gurney (45)


There was lots of position swapping in the Minimax class. For the most part Jenson Weston (34) led the field ending up with three 1sts and one 2nd. Sam Cooper (44) was hot on his heels with three 2nds but had a DNS in Heat 2. Matthew Copsey (97) picked up the remaining 1st place but didn’t make higher than 3rd for the rest of the day. Elliot Reed-Hughes (95) did well to make it from the back of the field to take 3rd in the Final.

Sam Cooper (44) claimed the fastest Minimax lap of the day and the Minimax lap record with a 42.58 in the Final. Jenson Weston (34) achieved the fastest average speed of 61.44 mph in Heat 3.

1st Jenson Weston (34) 2nd Sam Cooper (44)

3rd Elliot Reed-Hughes (95)

4th Alfie Campbell (40)

5th Matthew Copsey (97)


There was some drama in the Final when Ollie Handley (66) did his best to avoid a spin in front of him unfortunately causing him to flip out. Ollie sustained a fractured femur in the accident. Red Lodge Paramedic, Steve Murrow was quickly on the scene to keep him as comfortable as possible while awaiting the Air Ambulance which landed on the track at Senna. We all wish Ollie a very speedy recovery.

Luke Woodward (46) claimed the fastest Junior TKM lap of the day with a 42.07 in Heat 3. Elliot Norton (75) achieved the fastest average speed of 62.97 in the Final.

1st Elliot Norton (75) 2nd Thomas Warner (17) 3rd Tyler McAlpin (60) 4th Luke Woodward (46) 5th Freya Woodall (16)


A very small class for Junior Rotax this month. Bryn Evans (77) was on the pace and picked up a full set of 1sts leaving the 2nds for Adam Foster (92).

Bryn Evans (77) achieved the fastest Junior Rotax lap in the Final with a 42.16 and managed the fastest average speed of 61.08 mph in Heat 3.

1st Bryn Evans (77)

2nd Adam Foster (92)


These guys apparently chose an order at the beginning and stuck with it – although it seems that James Drabwell (5) and Jeremy Lock (72) didn’t get the memo as they swapped in the Final. Charlie Gromett (6) - full set of 1sts; Theo Grey (35) – full set of 2nds; James Drabwell (5) – three 4ths and a 3rd; Jeremy Lock (72) – three 3rds and a 4th.

Charlie Gromett (6) claimed the fastest Prokart lap of the day with a 44.30 in the Final and achieved the fastest average speed of 59.48 mph in the Final.

1st Charlie Gromett (6) 2nd Theo Grey (35) 3rd James Drabwell (5)

4th Jeremy Lock (72)

5th Thomas Hill (27)


Ben Maxim (17) did it again, grabbing a full set of 1sts. Everyone else swapped the remaining positions between themselves: Joshua Taylor (16) – one 2nd, two 3rds and a 4th; Josh Twitchen (25) - two 2nds and two 3rds.

Ben Maxim (17) claimed the fastest Senior Rotax lap of the day with a 40.22 in the Final and the top average speed of 65.21 mph in the Final.

1st Ben Maxim (17) 2nd Joshua Taylor (16)

3rd Josh Twitchen (25)

4th Arundel Hughes (24)

5th Zak Irvin (37)


Lloyd Bell (77), Nic Carlton-Smith (7) and Robert Peachey (00) shared the top three spaces for most of the day with the exception of Heat 2 when Bell had a DNS leaving an opening for Dan Jones (11) to take 3rd. Lloyd Bell (77) – two 1sts and a 2nd; Nic Carlton-Smith (7) – two 1sts, one 2nd and one 3rd; Robert Peachey (00) – two 2nds and two 3rds.

Lloyd Bell (77) achieved both the top average speed 62.85 mph and the fastest Rotax 177 lap with a 40.93 in Heat 3

1st Lloyd Bell (77)

2nd Nic Carlton-Smith (7)

3rd Robert Peachey (00)

4th Tony Cohen (23)

5th Dan Jones (11)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page